Persuade the government to increase the 2015-16 science budget in June – we only have a few weeks to make a difference!

We urge the Government to unfreeze the science budget and increase its research and development spend in 2015-16. Further, to demonstrate its vision that science is vital for the UK, we ask the Government to set itself the long-term target of raising R&D spending to at least 0.8% of GDP – the G8 average.

Sign our petition Take our Survey Write to your MP

These top scientists endorse our campaign:

Dr Paul Nurse, Nobel Laureate, KBE FRS Professor Anne Dell, CBE FRS
Professor Sir Martin Evans, Nobel Laureate, FRS Professor Dame Kay Davies, CBE FRS FMedSci FRCPath HonFRCP
Professor Sir Andre Geim, Nobel Laureate, KBE FRS Professor Brian Cox, OBE RSURF
Professor Sir John Gurdon, Nobel Laureate, KBE FRS Professor Eleanor Dodson, FRS
Professor Sir Tim Hunt, Nobel laureate, KBE FRS Professor Jeff Errington, FRS FmedSci
Professor Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Nobel laureate, KBE FRS, HonFRSC Professor Phil Evans, FRS
Professor Sir John Walker, Nobel laureate, KBE FRS Dr Matthew Freeman, FRS
Professor Stephen Hawking, CH CBE FRS FRSA Professor Dame Athene Donald, DBE FRS
Professor Uta Frith, FRS FBA FMedSci Professor Chris Frith, FRS FMedSci FBA
Professor Sir Roy Anderson, KBE FRS FMedSci Professor Sir Timothy Gowers, FRS
Professor Jim Al-Khalili, OBE Professor Peter Lawrence, FRS
Professor Alan Ashworth, FRS Professor Xin Lu, FRCPath
Professor France Ashcroft, FRS Professor Richard Morris, CBE FRS
Professor Alan Baddeley Professor Mark Miodownik
Professor David Barford, FRS Professor Dame Linda Partridge, DBE FRS
Professor Sir David Baulcombe, KBE FRS Professor Laurence Pearl, FRS
Professor Colin Blakemore, FRS FmedSci HonFSB HonFRCP Professor Jordan Raff
Professor Dorothy Bishop, FBA FMedSci Professor Martin Raff, FRS FMedSci
Professor Sir John Burn, KBE FMedSci Professor Martin Rees, OM FRS
Professor Jon Butterworth Professor Trevor Robbins, FRS
Professor Iain Campbell, FRS Professor Liz Robertson, FRS
Professor Nicky Clayton, FRS Professor Dame Carol Robinson, DBE FRS
Professor John Collinge, CBE FRS FRCP Professor Helen Saibil, FRS FMedSci
Professor David Colquhoun, FRS Dr Simon Singh, OBE
Professor Dame Janet Thornton, DBE FRS Professor Geoffrey Smith, FRS FmedSci FSB
Professor Brian Spratt, CBE FRS FMedSci Professor Gabriel Waksman, FRS FMedSci
Professor David Stuart, FRS

We are grateful for the support of the following organizations:

AMRC | BreakthroughParkinson's UK
Royal Astronomical Society
Campaign for Science and Engineering | British Society for Developmental Biology
British Society for Cell Biology | Society for General Microbiology | Society for Experimental Biology | Society of Biology | Biochemical Society
British Pharmacological Society | London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
British Science Association | Portuguese of Researchers and Students in the UK |Spanish Researchers in the UK
UCU | Prospect